Forbidden Bestiary: Creatures of Shadow

You may be familiar with the Dungeon Master’s Guild that Wizards of the Coast recently launched. The Guild allows D&D players to create and sell content for Dungeons and Dragons 5th edition. They get access to art resources for free to use in their documents, and they can even use the Forgotten Realms setting in any way they wish.

Anyway, I recently published my first DM’s Guild PDF: Forbidden Bestiary: Creatures of Shadow. It contains 26 new monsters with a horror theme and 4 monster templates so DM’s can customize their own spooky critters. I hope to release more Forbidden Bestiary supplements with different themes in the future. For now, however, here are some preview images of Creatures of Shadow:

CoSPreview2

The Cadaver Collector is one of many monsters that I’ve updated to 5e rules. This is the first page in its section of the book, where you can see its story and characteristics.

CoSPreview1

This page from the Elementals section showcases two details that make my book stand out. First, I designed my own statblock for monsters. I did this because the template in the DM’s Guild Resource document didn’t really appeal to me, and there are certain features of 5e statblocks I never really cared for anyway. Second, the “X in Play” sections. These provide advice and story hooks to help DMs use my monsters in their campaigns.

CoSPreview3

Curious about exactly what monsters are statted out in Creatures of Shadow? This page lists every statblock in the book by order of Challenge Rating. Templates are not included (though example monsters created with templates are), so here’s a list of the templates in order of appearance in the book proper: Dhampir, Shade, Skeleton, and Legendary Necromancer. These were used to create the Skeleton Wolf, Dhampir Scout, Shade Veteran, and Necromancer Archmage examples.

Leave a comment